The Firelands Expansion
WelcomeDanger, battle, glory, and wealth! Welcome to the magical realm of Talisman®.
The Firelands expansion for Talisman: Digital Edition features new characters to quest with, Adventure cards to explore, and Spells to command. This rulesheet explains how to use the new components provided by The Firelands to enhance your Talisman experience.
The Firelands Symbol
Cards in this expansion are marked with an Ifrit flame symbol so you can distinguish them from the cards in the base game.
Fireland tokens represent the destructive influence of the Ifrit, who bring flame and death wherever they march. If a character ends his turn in a space with a fireland token, he must lose 1 life.
Each space can have only one fireland token on it at any time. If a space already has one fireland token on it, players cannot place fireland tokens on that space.
Players cannot place fireland tokens in the Inner Region.
Strength/CraftMany of the Enemies in The Firelands possess a Strength/ Craft value. If a character encounters these Enemies, he can choose to fight all these Enemies in either battle or in psychic combat. Characters may exchange trophies with a Strength/ Craft value for either Strength counters or Craft counters.
BurnBurn is a new effect that represents the complete incineration of part of the Talisman world. If a player is instructed to burn a card, it is removed from play. That card is a burnt card; game effects do not interact with burnt cards unless specifically stated.
FireproofSome cards are immune to the ravages of flame and cannot become burnt cards. These cards possess the fireproof symbol. Cards with the fireproof symbol are not affected by burn effects. If an effect causes a player to burn a card, he cannot choose a card that has the fireproof symbol. If all cards have a fireproof symbol, then nothing happens. If an effect causes a player to burn a number of cards from a deck, he reveals that many cards from the top of the deck, sets aside all cards with the fireproof symbol, and burns all the remaining cards. Then, he shuffles all the cards he set aside and places them back on top of the deck.
Terrain CardsUnder the influence of the Ifrit, the land irrevocably shifts and changes. Certain game effects instruct players to place a Terrain Card on a space on the game board.
While a Terrain Card is on a space, the text and name of that space is ignored and the text and name of the Terrain Card is used instead. If an effect refers to a space that is no longer on the board because that space contains a Terrain Card, that effect is ignored. For example, if the “Temple” space contains a “Ruins” Terrain Card and a “6” is rolled at the Tavern, the effect of moving to the Temple is ignored. Terrain Cards can only be removed by effects that specifically remove Terrain Cards.
Players cannot place Terrain Cards on spaces in the Inner Region. If an effect instructs a player to place a Terrain Card where he cannot, he ignores that effect.
If an effect causes a player to place a Terrain Card on a space and there are no cards of the required type left in the Terrain deck, he must choose a Terrain Card on the board of that type and move it to that space. If a player places a Terrain Card on a space that already contains a Terrain Card, he removes the original Terrain Card from that space and returns it to the Terrain deck.
If a player places a new character on the game board, he ignores any Terrain Cards when placing that character.
Terrain Cards and MovementIf the Sentinel space contains a Terrain Card, characters may cross freely from the Outer Region to the Middle Region; they do not have to defeat the Sentinel. Likewise, if the Portal of Power space contains a Terrain Card, characters may cross freely from the Middle Region to the Inner Region; they do not have to pick or force the lock, nor are they stopped by the Warlock if they have an uncompleted warlock quest.
Terrain Cards and Other ExpansionsWhen using an expansion board, if a Terrain Card is on a space that allows movement between boards, characters can still move to and from the expansion board following the normal movement rules of that expansion.
When using The Firelands with The City expansion, Terrain Cards cannot be placed on the “Jail” or “Town Square” spaces of The City expansion board.
If a Terrain Card is placed on the last space of an expansion board, such as the “Treasure Chamber” from The Dungeon expansion, a character must end his movement when entering that space, then encounter the Terrain Card instead of that space.
Noble Ifrit CardsSome Enemy Adventure Cards included in The Firelands expansion have ongoing effects that are in play until the Enemy is defeated.
These Noble Ifrit cards are identified by their distinctive colour.
TrinketsSome Objects feature the “Trinket” keyword printed above the card’s special ability. Trinkets are treated like normal Objects, except they do not count toward a character’s carrying limit.
Trinkets may be ditched, discarded, stolen, or sold like normal Objects.
Alternative Ending CardsThe use of Alternative Ending Cards is optional and players should agree whether or not to use them before starting the game.
SetupSetup for Alternative Ending Cards is determined by which of the two game variants players decide to use. Players can start the game with the card either revealed or hidden.
Revealed VariantThe revealed variant has a greater impact on characters during the course of the game and offers players more strategy.
If players use the revealed variant, the Alternative Ending Cards should be shuffled at the start of the game and one card, drawn at random, is placed faceup on the Crown of Command at the centre of the board.
Hidden VariantThe hidden variant adds more mystery and excitement to the game since players do not know what dangers await them at the Crown of Command until they reach the space.
If players use the hidden variant, all Alternative Ending Cards with a revealed icon in their upper left corner must be removed from the game. Cards with a revealed icon can only be used when playing with the revealed variant.
The remaining Alternative Ending Cards should then be shuffled at the start of the game and one card, drawn at random, is placed facedown on the Crown of Command at the centre of the board.
Encountering Alternative EndingsAlternative Ending Cards replace the base game’s victory conditions, offering players new ways to win the game. When using the Alternative Ending Cards, characters on the Crown of Command must encounter the Alternative Ending Card and follow the rules printed on the card – they cannot cast the Command Spell or encounter other characters on the Crown of Command unless the Alternative Ending Card specifically states otherwise.
All other rules regarding the Inner Region still apply when playing with Alternative Ending Cards:
• None of the creatures in the Inner Region (nor any of the Alternative Ending Cards) can be affected by any Spell. They also cannot be evaded.
• Characters on the Crown of Command cannot move and must remain on that space unless the Alternative Ending Card specifically states otherwise.
• Once any character has reached the Crown of Command, any character who is killed automatically loses the game.
Alternative Ending Cards generally only affect characters on the Crown of Command.
However, instructions that have a star icon at the start of their text affect all characters, no matter what Region they are in, including characters on the Crown of Command.