The Frostmarch ExpansionQuests, battles, glory, and gold! Welcome back to the magical realm of Talisman® Digital Edition
The Frostmarch expansion for Talisman: The Magical Quest Game features new character, Adventure, and Spell Cards. These cards work exactly like those in the base game, and should simply be shuffled into their respective decks. This rulesheet explains how to use the new Warlock Quest and Alternative Ending Cards to enhance your Talisman experience.
The Frostmarch Symbol
All of the cards in this expansion are marked with a snowflake symbol, so you can differentiate them from the cards from the base game.
Adventure and Spell CardsThe new Adventure and Spell Cards work exactly like those in the base game, and include additional Events, Enemies, Strangers, Objects, Followers, and Places.
Character CardsThe new character cards work exactly like those in the base game, and offer players an even greater selection of heroes to play.
Warlock Quest CardsWarlock Quest Cards represent missions characters may take on when they visit the Warlock’s Cave space.
Alternative Ending CardsThe use of Alternative Ending Cards is optional and players should agree whether or not to use them before starting the game.
Revealed VariantThe revealed variant has a greater impact on characters during the course of the game and offers players more strategy. You can view revealed ending cards during your turn by selecting the Crown of Command space and then reading the space description.
Hidden VariantThe hidden variant adds more mystery and excitement to the game since players do not know what dangers await them at the Crown of Command until they reach the space.
Encountering Alternative EndingsAlternative Ending Cards replace the base game’s victory conditions, offering players new ways to win the game. When using the Alternative Ending Cards, characters on the Crown of Command must encounter the Alternative Ending Card and follow the rules printed on the card – they cannot cast the Command Spell or encounter other characters on the Crown of Command unless the Alternative Ending Card specifically states otherwise.
All other rules regarding the Inner Region still apply when playing with Alternative Ending Cards:
None of the creatures in the Inner Region (nor any of the Alternative Ending Cards) can be affected by any Spell. They also cannot be evaded.
Characters on the Crown of Command cannot move and must remain on that space unless the Alternative Ending Card specifically states otherwise.
Once any character has reached the Crown of Command, any character who is killed automatically loses the game.
Alternative Ending Cards generally only affect characters on the Crown of Command. However, instructions that have a star icon at the start of their text affect all characters, no matter what Region they are in, including characters on the Crown of Command.